Representatives of a Western Australian group of water leaders and strategic thinkers, the Water Sensitive Transition Network, met with WA Water, Science, Innovation and ICT Minister Hon Dave Kelly MLA, to discuss opportunities for realising their aspiration of Perth becoming a leading water sensitive city.

The Transition Network aims to formulate a shared vision for Perth’s water sensitive transition. It draws together thought leaders from within the urban water, planning and development sectors and across state government, local government and private industry to bring that vision to life. It was formed during a deeply collaborative process facilitated in 2015/16 by the CRC for Water Sensitive Cities (CRCWSC).

Minister Kelly expressed his vision for Western Australia to be a leader in water and liveability. Perth is developing ambitious plans for achieving its water sensitive transition, focusing on better ways to manage climate change, urban expansion, urban heat, waterways health and water scarcity in Perth. The meeting with the Transition Network was an opportunity to showcase how the work of the Network and the CRCWSC can help achieve greater water security and more liveable, resilient, sustainable and prosperous Perth communities.

CRCWSC Regional Manager for WA, Dr Emma Yuen, explained that the meeting with Minister Kelly was a chance to “share some of the learnings from the journey so far, give examples of successful projects and initiatives underway, and discuss opportunities to address key areas of innovation, liveability and water literacy.”

“This includes placing the relationship between people and water at the centre, so that Perth’s residents feel a connection with their various water resources, as well as a sense of empowerment to engage around their future”, she said.

Ideas for Perth’s Transition Strategy are being developed by the Network in partnership with the CRCWSC under Integrated Research Project 1 ‘Water sensitive city visions and transition strategies’. This research project enables the CRCWSC’s latest knowledge and tools to be applied in practice, to deliberately and strategically drive Perth’s transition towards greater water sensitivity.

In the long running theme of local champions being pivotal to driving successful uptake of water innovation, the WA Transition Network’s efforts are a clear indication of the value of having a dedicated mechanism to help advance a city’s water sensitive vision and priorities.

Front row L-R

Perth NRM - Jason Pitman,
City of Canning – Rachel Williams,
Department of Water and Environmental Regulation - Greg Claydon (CRCWSC Board),
Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industries – Yvette Peterson,
CRC for Water Sensitive Cities - Emma Yuen,
Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions - Emma Monk,
LandCorp - Julio Navarrete, Department of Communities (Housing) - Sue Martens,
Minister for Water –Dave Kelly,
Water Corporation – Mel Roosendaal,
Water Corporation – Natasha Ogonowski,
Department of Water and Environmental Regulation – Antonietta Torre,
Department of Communities (Housing) - John Savell,
Department of Water and Environmental Regulation – Mike Rowe,
CRC for Water Sensitive Cities - Mike Mouritz (CRCWSC Board),
Josh Byrne and Associates - Josh Byrne

Back row L-R

City of Nedlands - Max Hipkins,
WALGA - Mark Batty, Department of Health - Richard Theobald,
Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage - Ben Harvey,
City of Subiaco - Giles Pickard, City of Perth - Julie McDonnell,
Department of Planning, Lands and Heritage – Jan McCredie,
Urbaqua - Shelley Shepherd,
Water Corporation – Ashley Vincent,
Department of Water and Environmental Regulation - Don Crawford,
Water Corporation – Sergey Volotovskiy