The CRCWSC will play a key role in an intergovernmental agreement to strengthen ties between Victoria’s regional cities and their counterparts in the Chinese region of Jiangsu.

An announcement was made in September by the Victorian Premier Daniel Andrews, and Minister for Regional Development Jaala Pulford to reaffirm the Victoria-Jiangsu relationship at the 16th biennial meeting of the Victoria-Jiangsu Joint Economic Committee (VJJEC). The agreement outlines a number of areas for collaboration, including the area of environmental protection which includes the CRCWSC.

Also at the meeting were regional city and council leaders from Ballarat, Geelong, Latrobe, Shepparton, Warrnambool and Wangaratta who are members of the Regional Cities Alliance.